Kevin Hancock

 
 
About two weeks from now I will be heading to the airport.  Time has gone very fast.  Especially these last few weeks.  My last two weeks are incredibly full.  I have 4, possibly 5, days of company visits.  I have two projects for Thermo to complete, my class meets all day on the days that I am not on a company visit, and I need to build my design.  I will have to build the design last minute and after hours. 

Last week I did one company visit with a Solar Cell company.  It went well.  I am learning a lot from all these tours.  My class has been going well also.  Today I learned about smart grid.  There is a lot I could share about this topic.  Just ask sometime and I will explain it to you.  I love being able to see the future.  In summary, your house energy usage will be uploaded to the internet and you can control your house from your computer.  Also, did you know you can buy an adapter to turn your power outlets into internet connections.  No need for Ethernet plug-ins and you can now have internet in any room.

My weekend went well.  I went to south Taiwan and hiked up a mountain.  We got there in time to see the sun rise but it was too cloudy.  We stopped on the road and saw monkeys in the wild.  They hang out in this area because people feed them.  It was a lot of fun to see them jump on the cars and buses.  You could get extremely close to them.  I have some pictures up, but I can't upload the videos I took. 

On Sunday, I went to north Taiwan.  I went and saw some waterfalls.  We also visited a Taiwanese pastry store.  We got to try many samples.  The food was very delicious.  We stopped at a beach to see the scenery and then headed to a night market for dinner.  The night market was very large and there was tons of food.  I had some lamb noodle soup.  There was a nice park at the night market where we ate.  I really enjoyed just relaxing and being surrounded by the culture.

Some of the pictures can speak for themselves because I am too busy to explain everything.  Peace!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.