Kevin Hancock

 
 
Yes it is true, things are slowing down here.  Sunday night I had supper with the group of foreign students and a few others from Taiwan.  The pizza was okay but it didn't have pizza sauce.  They got some really weird kinds of pizzas that are popular here like: Seafood pizza, lobster pizza, shrimp, bacon and pea pizza, curry pizza and some other more normal types.  The shrimp and curry pizzas were good.  We had a good time just talking and hanging out in a dorm room.

Today I meet with my professor.  He confirmed what I already knew about my internship.  That I will be doing a tour of a New Energy company on Friday.  I will then be working for a production company next week.  He didn't know the schedule of my class yet but I believe it starts on the 28th, which is when my online thermodynamics class from ISU starts.  I also should be hearing back from him about some other things.

Tomorrow I will be making rice dumplings with some people and then on Wednesday there is a big festival.  Rice dumplings are a popular food for the festival.  It is in honor of a poet.

One thing I have not talked about is the food here.  The food is okay.  Some things I like and somethings I hate.  The things I tend to like are closer to American food.  Some people asked what I would do if I didn't like the food.  Well, there is a Subway, Mc Donald's, a Burger King, and an Italian place right by where I live.  I have ate at all only once except Subway.  I have taken several trips there.  I have been lifting weights while I have been here.  I am on a pattern of lifting every other day.  I like to have something to do and I want to come back strong.  I have been reading a little bit as well, from the book "One Thing You Can't Do in Heaven."  I haven't gone to church yet so this is a good thing to do.  I think I will be going to a Mormon Church on Sunday.

I have been planning my weekends with some others and I should have some fun stuff coming up.  So stay tuned!











Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.