Kevin Hancock

 
 
Yesterday, I went on the bus again and traveled 45 mins to Taoyuan.  I visited the Wire and Cable Plant.  They do what their name says.  I saw some really cool stuff there.  I was able to see how large power lines are made.  I saw how the copper wire was made.  They get large copper sheets and melt them in a furnace.  The copper then surrounds a thin copper wire.  It is then cooled and stretched to the size that they want.  I was able to go up on the cat walks of the machines and get a good look at things.

I also saw the how they made insulation.  This was for the very large cables that are under ground.  They hold up to 161 KV which is a lot compared to our home voltage of 110 volts (over a thousand times larger.)  The wire with a diameter of around 6 inches was covered with a film and then rubber surrounded the wire.  It then had to be instantly cooled off by water so that it would harden.  I was able to touch the cooling rubber on the assembly line.  It was a very hands on tour.

Later we watched a film and ate lunch.  After lunch in Taiwan it is custom to take a short nap.  They will get around 30 mins to sleep before they go back to work.  So they put us in a room and I took a nap.  This was nice because I woke up at 6:45.  We then saw the fiber optics production line and I saw Ethernet cable  being made.  Testing was a large part of the process and I was able to see that as well. 

Then we went to another company that was at the same location.  It was one of toes locations.  This was really neat because it was a clean room.  I put on slippers, a jacket, and a hair net.  We then entered a disinfecting doorway that blew air on us.  Any time you walked into this building you had to be disinfected.  It was a two door system where only one door could open at a time.  It was like in the doctor TV shows.  It was quite the experience.  They tested new robots at this location.  These robots handle LCD screens.  When they come out with new designs and modifications they build them there and test them. 

Tuesday night I talked to Amanda all night.  It was nice to have such a long time to talk and catch up.  I will be breaking this blog up because other wise it would be way to long.  Stay tuned. 
Kim Hancock
6/23/2010 01:11:09 pm

Hi ! Kevin! I am at Kristin's and the babies are sleeping now. I'm glad things are going great there. Sounds like you are getting lots of hands on experience! I miss you. Kristin says hi and says the things you are doing sounds way cool!Take care. I love you

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.