Kevin Hancock

 
 
Today I slept in and didn't start work until 1:00.  The lab assistants were busy this morning and they set up for me to begin in the afternoon.  I went to Tatung Company Head Quarters, which is a few blocks away.  I was greeted by the Manager of the Toes Company.  The VP, who set up my internship, then joined us and we walked to Toes.  Two lab assistants came with me.  When we got there they showed us the robot that they wanted to modify.  My job, for the next two days, is to disassemble the robot and then rebuild it according to the plans.  The robot makes a part and the part is going to be changed slightly.  This means, much of the robot has to be rebuilt to make the new part.  Today we took apart a section of the robot.  Then we started putting it together.  A person from Toes helped us do this.  He does not speak English, so the others have to interpret.  This takes some patience on my end.

The new design in all drawn up on CAD.  We look at the assembly drawings and have to put it together.  Of course this is a very hands on job.  I enjoyed it.  I have always enjoyed building things according to a plan.  Who would have thought I could use my K'nex skills in a job.  Though I will not be building robots as a career, I think the experience is very beneficial.  I may be designing them or manufacturing them.  I can learn a lot of valuable things building one that will help me to design one.  So far I have learned that it is a very precise task and there is a lot to learn about tolerances.

I found out from Dr. Her that I should be doing some design work on the companies rice cookers.  They want me to do some 3D modeling.  This will be some great design work.  Now I have hands-on work and design work.  Good things to have under my belt.

Later on this evening, I ate with around 5 guys from the ME lab.  This was great because I was able to meet some more people and of course we have many common interests.  This lab focuses on virtual reality.  Two guys showed me their research.  It was some cool stuff.  Norman made a hang glider simulator.  Where you wear glasses and see a virtual world.  You could tilt your head right and the screen would move that way.  Not to forget that you are suspended in the air by a harness and you can steer with the handle bar.  The only bad thing was, they distroyed it already :
I hope I will continue to have such great experiences. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.