Kevin Hancock

 
 
In past few days I have been working and doing some school work.  The second day of the Semiconducting company tour was good.  We saw the second half of the factory.  I was able to see how silicon is formed and some cool mechanical devices that wash the semiconductors. 

On wednesday, I started working for Toes.  I was given some CAD drawings and was told to draw them so they would have the files on hand.  They only receive PDF's from companies that they buy from.  The part is a mechanical arm of a robot.  The arm has many little complex parts.  I started drawing the parts individually on the computer using Autodesk Inventor.  This is the program I have experience using.  That afternoon I was given another  assignment.  The guys in the Robotics lab need a mechanical hoist to move a projector up and down.  They asked me to design one as part of my internship.  They are doing research on projecting an image in a cone mirror and making a 360 degree image.   They want to vary the projector height.  I am designing the table, mechanical system, and the projector holder.  I spent Wednesday drawing up some sketches by hand.  I needed to get an idea for what they wanted.  I also created some dimensions using the projectors dimensions.

Today I took the sketches and designed the parts on Autodesk.  This has been great practice and a lot of fun for me.  I can tell I am in the right major.  I love designing.  Tomorrow I will put the parts together and maybe do some automation with them.  Next week I will build the device.  When I am done, I will do some more CAD drawings for Toes and what ever else they want me to do.

I am still trying to plan this weekend.  I want to go see something in Taiwan.  Maybe the zoo, memorial hall, a museum, a night market, or something else.  Next weekend I am going to go to a Taipei baseball game. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.