Kevin Hancock

 
 
Happy fourth of July.  My Fourth was eventful.  I did a lot of tourist things.  I started my day by going to church.  I was asked if I wanted to go to church with a friend from work.  He has a friend who has a christian girlfriend.  Them, my friend's girlfriend, and I (the fifth wheel) went to church.  I didn't know it was going to be a completely Chinese service! 

After that we went and got some food.  If you don't like hearing about what I ate then don't read this paragraph.  They ordered some traditional Chinese food.  I have been here for around a month now, and haven't had this stuff yet.  I was avoiding it, but they ordered several small plates of things and asked me to try them all.  So I did.  I would try it, then ask what it was.  Otherwise, I probably wouldn't have ate the pig ear!  I had shark sushi, fish skin, then the pig parts: ear, tongue, lung, and intestine.  I didn't like the fish skin or the pig ear, they were hard and tough.  I could eat the tongue and the sushi.

My friend,  Barry, and his girlfriend, Olive, then took me to see some sights in Taipei.  We went to a miniatures museum.  It had little toy like statues of houses and people around the world.  We then went to see the Memorial Hall, the picture that is on the top of my website.  It was a famous building for their soldier who fled to Taiwan to be away form China during their civil war.  So on the Fourth of July, I went to a memorial for Taiwan's Independence!    The cool thing about this place was the soldiers.  They stood by the huge statue of the leader.  They did not move for an hour.  They would then switch soldiers at the hour.  It would be a big event, very serious and rehearsed.  They did some cool tricks with their guns as well. 

Our last stop was the Storyhouse of Taiwan.  It was in the basement of a building with many antiques from Taiwan.  There were fake rooms to show how things were in the olden times.  We took some pictures and ate some kind of tofu soup.  It wasn't tofu but it was its just as evil twin! 

Well my class starts tomorrow.  I am glad I am finally starting it.  The college had to wait until the students were done with their school and the professors were done with grading.  My class will be Monday, Wednesday, and Friday in the morning.  As I have said before, it is on green energy.  I will now be balancing work, green energy class, thermo 2 class, other projects I know of, and experiencing the culture.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.