Kevin Hancock

 
 
Today I went to the Heavy Electric Plant of Tatung Company.  They make transformers and power meters.  The transformers range in size and the big ones are larger then a combine.  The meters were like the old meters that are getting phased out in the U.S.  They too are getting rid of these and switching to the smart meters.  Someday they will take me to the plant that makes the new ones.

We started the day with a bus ride to the company.  It took and hour to get there.  We then learned about what they do there and many details about the transformers.  They provided lunch for us and after that we went on some tours.

After we got back to Taipei, I went and talked to the VP of a branch of Tatung (TOES).  He is the one who is hiring me for my internship.  I now know what I will be doing.  I will be working for T.O.E.S.  This is a production company for Tatung products.  There are many different types of products made by Tatung.  I am sure I will know more later.  I will be learning how the machines work then doing some design work on the robots.  I will put my 3D models in an automation software and simulate the movement of the parts.  They will then use my automations. I feel this will be very beneficial for me.  He seemed to think this will be a great fit as well.  I will still continue to take tours of other companies.  He stressed the importance of seeing other companies getting to add to my knowledge and experience through this opportunity.  People want to hire mechanical engineers who have seen the machines that they will be designing.

Tomorrow I will go to another company and Wednesday I start with TOES.  Wish me luck.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.