Kevin Hancock

 
 
I haven't been able to blog for several days but I have just been too busy.  I am still very busy and I am writing this blog before I go to bed at around 11:00.  I then have to get up at 7:00 so I can go to a company tomorrow.

On Friday, I went to a company that worked on fuel cells and LED lighting.  The LED lighting is very big here and the company is using the industry to fund the Fuel Cell Research.  They don't produce the Fuel Cells yet.  They seem to think it will become a major energy source in the future.  Using it to power homes, buildings, cars, and even cell phones.  They gave a lot of information on how they are made and what their application is.

After I visited with that company, I went to the mechanical engineering department.  I met a lot of people and spoke with several professors.  One who gave me an model engine to rebuild and another who wants me to take a class and do a project on mechatronics.  I really don't know what I will have time for at this point.  Many other graduate students want to show me around Taiwan and also teach me stuff that they are working on.  I may have a lot to do.  But right now I am waiting for my class schedule and then after that my internship schedule.  Until then I will have a lot to do. 

On Saturday, I went to an amusement park.  I went with 12 others and we had a great time.  The amount of fun was not equivalent to the excitement of the rides, however.  I am afraid they have a ways to go, to get to my kind of rides.  It was set up as a magical world and focused more on characters like Disney Land then on exciting rides.  After this we went to the big night market and ate dinner at a Korean restaurant.  The night market looked like a scaled down version of times square.  Lots of lights and billboards. 

Today I went to a beach.  We took the train.  It was an hour and a half away.  Once we got there we just laid on the beach and spend some time in the water.  It was relaxing.  It took all day and I don't have all that much to say about it.  The landscape was really nice.  Taiwan is covered in green mountains.  Oh, and here was a really cool sand sculpting festival there.  So we saw AMAZING sand sculptures.  I will definitely put up the pictures.

Got to get to bed.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kevin Hancock.      I am studying abroad from June-August of 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan.  Here is a blog of my experiences.

    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Fun Fact!!!!!!!!
    (I will try and update this often.)

    1.
    In Taiwan they don't normally drink anything with their meal because they always have rice.  They say the rice will fill up with the moisture and make their stomach hurt.  Many restaurants don't have anything for you to drink.  After you eat, you find a near by tea shop and get something there.

    2.
    There is a separate lane for mopeders because there are so many here.
    3.
    Kleenexs are used as facial tissues, napkins, paper towels, and toilet paper!

    4.
    You can count to 9 on one hand in Taiwan.

    5.
    You shouldn't place your chop sticks in your food.  It is correct to set them on top of your bowl.  Sticking them in the bowl represents incense in ashes, which is done in temples.